The Right to Information Bill was passed by the Lok Sabha on 11th May, 2005 and by the Rajya Sabha on 12th May, 2005 and it received assent of the President of India, Dr A.P.J.Abdul Kalam on 15th June, 2005 and has come on the Statue Book as the Right to Information Act, 2005 (22 of 2005). The Act provide for setting out the practical regime of right to information for citizens to secure access to information under the control of public authorities, in order to promote transparency and accountability in the working of every public authority.

Under Section 15(1) of this Act, it was stated that, “Every State Government shall, by notification in the Official Gazette, constitute a body to be known as the (name of State) Information Commission to exercise the powers conferred on, and to perform the functions assigned to it under this Act”. In accordance with this provision, the Mizoram Information Commission, consisting one State Chief Information Commissioner and two State Information Commissioners, was established by the Government of Mizoram on 29th June, 2006 vide Government of Mizoram, Information & Public Relations Department’s Notification No.F.13011/11/2005-IPR dt.29.06.2006 and Mizoram Information Commission was officially functioning w.e.f. 05.07.2006. The office of the Mizoram Information Commission, from the inception to till date, is accommodated in the building constructed for All India Services’s Transit Accommodation at Khatla, New Secretariat Complex, Mizoram.

List of current and former State Chief Information Commissioners and State Information Commissioners:

Sl.No. Name of DignitaryDesignation Period of Incumbency 
Mr. Robert Hrangdawla, IAS (Rtd)State Chief Information Commissioner05.07.2006 to 01.02.2010
Mr. Lal Dingliana, IFS (Rtd)State Chief Information Commissioner08.08.2011 to 07.08.2016
Mr. Lalduhthlana Ralte, IFS (Rtd)State Chief Information Commissioner21.12.2016 to 17.10.2021
4.Mr. Lalnunmawia Chuaungo, IAS (Rtd)State Chief Information Commissioner01.11.2021 to 19.06.2023
5.Mr. John Neihlaia, IPS (Rtd)State Chief Information Commissioner05.10.2023 till date
Sl.No.Name of DignitaryDesignationPeriod of Incumbency 
Mr. K. Tlanthanga, IB(P)S (Rtd)State Information Commissioner05.07.2006 to 30.6.2011
Mr. L. Hrangnawna, IPS (Rtd)State Information Commissioner21.05.2012 to 31.12.2016
Mr. Zorammawia, IPS (Rtd)State Information Commissioner04.05.2018 to 28.02.2023
Dr. C. LalzirlianaState Information Commissioner07.03.2019 to 23.02.2022
5.Mr. Mangjangam Touthang, IIS (Rtd)State Information Commissioner05.10.2023 till date

The office of the Mizoram Information Commission, from the inception to till date, is accommodated in the building constructed for the All India Service’s Transit accommodation at Khatla, New Secretariat Complex, Aizawl, Mizoram.